Media, Film and Television PhD students

Date

Name

Email

PhD research

In progress Ghazaleh Gol Bakhsh

ggol007@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Writing In-betweeness: Representing Iranian-New Zealanders through screenwriting
In progress Laura Bell lmut010@aucklanduni.ac.nz The New Normal? New Zealand LGBT parents and the queering of the American televisual family.
In progress Phil Braithwaite pbra174@aucklanduni.ac.nz 'We Will End in Fire': British Science Fiction Television and Thatcherism
In progress Anca Cernic acer224@aucklanduni.ac.nz Exploring New Zealanders' Online Behaviour: Website Revisits versus Serendipitous Browsing in New Zealanders' Leisure Computer Use
In progress Lubna El-Elaimy

l.elelaimy@auckland.ac.nz

Citizen Journalism, Social Media and the Arab Spring: How citizen journalists revolutionized news coverage during the events of the Arab Spring in 2011 in Egypt
In progress Ahmed Ghazal agha547@aucklanduni.ac.nz Egyptian Cinema and the 2011 Revolution
In progress Deniz Karahan

dkar806@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Marcuse and the Ideology of Information Technology
In progress Jennifer Kirby jkir055@aucklanduni.ac.nz Post Plug-In Cinema: Intermediality and Generic Mutation in Contemporary Film
In progress Nickkita Lau plau477@aucklanduni.ac.nz Fanvidding of English-language TV shows in the West and China: A comparative study of YouTube and Tuduo
In progress Shimeng Li

sli555@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Chinese youth sub-culture from the perspective of Chinese Youth Film among Mainland China, Taiwan and Hong Kong
In progress Wenwen Li

wli556@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Standing Inside and Outside: Independent Documentary by North American Chinese
In progress Jeanine Lim jlim811@aucklanduni.ac.nz The Construction of ‘Singapore’ in Singapore Cinema
In progress Xie Quin (Joe) Lim xie.lim@auckland.ac.nz Permanent Visitor: New Zealand's Gay Asian Migrants, Identity and Mediated Social Exchange
In progress Jake Mahaffy j.mahaffy@auckland.ac.nz Trauma-State Cinema: Narrative Principles of Dissociative and Traumatic Stress Disorders
In progress Anna Kathrine Majavu

amaj894@aucklanduni.ac.nz

An Africana Critical theory Inquiry into Media Representations of Africans in New Zealand
In progress Lawrence (Larry) May l.may@auckland.ac.nz The production and negotiation of emergent narrative in multiplayer video games
In progress Saba  Mehmood smeh722@aucklanduni.ac.nz TV News, Political Violence and the Social Imaginaries of Teenagers in Pakistan
In progress Shiuan (Clair) Miao

smia594@aucklanduni.ac.nz

When does she become our (s)hero? National identity, media representation, and sportswomen in ‘masculine’ sports
In progress Susan Nemec snem001@aucklanduni.ac.nz Using Māori Television as a case study, is there a relationship between migrants viewing indigenous television and ideas about national identity within the context of a settler/colonial nation.
In progress Shiza Nisar

snis855@aucklanduni.ac.nz

‘More media gives a rise to more voices' (MacBride 2004): Is the statement justified in the case of Pakistan?
In progress Ian Randall iran920@aucklanduni.ac.nz Reporting palaeontology: its relationship with, and representation in, print news media
In progress Ola Hamed Nahar Sawaie

osaw492@aucklanduni.ac.nz

The representation of gender in Egyptian films after the 2011 Egyptian revolution
In progress Canan Ezel Sertkaya

c.sertkaya@auckland.ac.nz

Construction and Presentation of Gender Identity on Social Media
In progress Carmen Spanò cspa223@aucklanduni.ac.nz Emerging dynamics in audiences' mobile consumption of trans-media products: the cases Game of Thrones and Mad Men as a comparative study between Italy and New Zealand
In progress Laura Stephenson lste113@aucklanduni.ac.nz The Edge of Darkness: Psychological Disorder in Contemporary Film
In progress Vimala Subramanian vsub007@aucklanduni.ac.nz Academic Publishing in the Digital World: the institutional repository as a space for author rights, advancement of learning and expansion of the public domain
In progress Yuyun Surya ysur846@aucklanduni.ac.nz The Construction of Ethnic Minority Identity In Indonesia on the Internet
In progress Winston Jin Song Teo

wteo572@aucklanduni.ac.nz

New media & Singapore’s millennial generation in civic and political engagment
In progress Norman Zafra

nzaf652@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Negotiating transmedia in political documentary: Distributing labour migration narratives across platforms
In progress Shijan Zhao

szha578@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Rule of Law or Rule of Party, Comparative Mediated Political Scandal in China, Hong Kong and U.S.: Case Study of High-ranking Chinese Officers’ Downfall under Xi’s Regime
2016 Jonathan Albright jalb013@aucklanduni.ac.nz #hashing it out: Participatory Mediation in Social News Spaces
2016 Xiaojie (Sam) Cao xcao024@aucklanduni.ac.nz Anxiety of Discourse: Cyberculture and Its Cynical Shift in China 2004-2013
  Janus Currie jcur058@aucklanduni.ac.nz Tales from a Golden Era: Dissensus and Exclusion in Europe’s Moving Image
  Phoebe Fletcher p.fletcher@auckland.ac.nz War and Nationalism in American Splatter Horror Cinema
2014 Anna Jackson a.jackson@auckland.ac.nz Innovation and Change in New Zealand’s documentary production ecology (2010-2013)
  Yong Liu yliu902@aucklanduni.ac.nz The Aesthetics of Digital Stereoscopic 3D Cinema
  Fraser Mckissack fraser.mckissack@auckland.ac.nz Samurai, Cowboys and the Crisis of Masculinity in Film
  Zarqa Shaheen zsha016@aucklanduni.ac.nz Gender, Climate Change and Disaster Risk Reduction in Media: A Case Study of Pakistani Women
  Mark Stewart mw.stewart@auckland.ac.nz Realities of Change: The Changing Nature of Television in the Last Twenty Years
  Jenny Stuemer jenny.stuemer@auckland.ac.nz Facing the Wall: Screening through Alienation and Separation
  John Wei wei.wei@auckland.ac.nz Queer Sinophone Screen Cultures in the Early 21st Century
2014 Paula Ray paula.ray@auckland.ac.nz Activism via Social Networking: A case study of Urban Indian Women Facebook Users 
2014 Yongchun Fu   yfu036@aucklanduni.ac.nz China’s Industrial Response to Hollywood: A Transnational History, 1923-1937
2014 Hang Yin   hyin018@aucklanduni.ac.nz Chinese-language Cyberspace: Overseas Chinese Cyber Nationalism and Migrant Identity
2013 Cassandra Barnett  cbar052@aucklanduni.ac.nz Secret Agents: Perception, Politics and Pleasure in Contemporary New Zealand Media
2013 Margaret Henley   m.henley@auckland.ac.nz A whole new ball game: the symbolic relationship between broadcast media and netball in New Zealand from cinema newsreels to high definition pay television.
2013 Fokko Schulz   fsch028@aucklanduni.ac.nz Audio Production in Change
2013 Jan Sinclair   j.sinclair@auckland.ac.nz Entertaining facts: what the news media do with expert information about environmental risks
2013 Jani Wilson   janibelle@gmail.com Whiripapa: Tāniko, Whānau & Kōrero-based Film Analysis
2012 Pansy Duncan   p.duncan@auckland.ac.nz Feeling Postmodern: Emotion in Postmodern Film Aesthetics and Theory
2012 Hee Seung (Irene) Lee   hlee@aucklanduni.ac.nz Transmediation of the Real: A Psychoanalytic Approach to the Film Adaptation of Literary Texts
2012 Felicity Perry fper008@aucklanduni.ac.nz Dressing the Self: Young People, Dress and Identity
2012 Susan Potter   spot009@aucklanduni.ac.nz Queer Timing: The emergence of lesbian representation in early cinema
2012 Kevin Veale   kveale@gmail.com Comparing Stories: How Textual Structure Shapes Affective Experience in New Media
2012 Lars Weckbecker   lwec001@aucklanduni.ac.nz Governing Visions of the Real: The NZNFU, Griersonian Documentary and State Publicity
2011 Angela Barnes   abar093@aucklanduni.ac.nz Ngā Kai Para i te Kahikātoa: Māori filmmaking, Forging a Path
2011 Ruth Lysagh ruth.lysaght@gmail.com Teanga & Tikanga: A Comparative Study of Māori TV and TG4
2011 Suzanne Woodward   suzwoodward@yahoo.co.nz Imagining Possibilities: Trans Representations in Mainstream Film
2011 Jige Zhang   jzha221@aucklanduni.ac.nz Media Evolution and Reform Politics in China: A Case of Guangdong
2010 Cherie Lacey   cherielacey@gmail.com To Settle the Settler: Pathologies of Colonialism in New Zealand History Films 1925-2005