Staff research in History

History staff

Academic staff in History are active, widely-published researchers known nationally and internationally for their expertise in a variety of historical fields. Since 1980, History staff members have published well over 100 books and many articles and reviews. Current staff include Professor Barry Reay, holder of the Keith Sinclair Chair in History, Professor Linda Bryder and Professor Jonathan Scott.
 

New Zealand Journal of History

The New Zealand Journal of History is the leading historical journal published in New Zealand and is published twice yearly, in April and October. The NZJH is owned by the University of Auckland and its management board is based in History.

It is currently edited by Professors Barbara Brookes and Tony Ballantyne of the University of Otago.

New Zealand Journal of History
 

Lectures and seminars

We also host an annual Sinclair lecture to honour an historian of distinction; offer a fortnightly history seminar to provide a forum for local and visiting historians to present new research; and sponsor reading groups in fields such as medical history and Māori history.
 

Staff research interests

Name

Ext

Email

Research Interests

Associate Professor Maartje Abbenhuis

87361

m.abbenhuis@auckland.ac.nz  

European history, 1815-1919; history of neutrality; history of the Netherlands, especially in the First World War; war and society history; history of international law; history of borderlands and borderlands theory; representations of Nazism in popular culture.

Associate Professor Lisa Bailey  

88907

lk.bailey@auckland.ac.nz  

Christianity in Late Antique Gaul, especially preaching and the laity.

Dr Felicity Barnes  

87358

f.barnes@auckland.ac.nz  

New Zealand history, especially cultural history, and settler colonial history.

Associate Professor Ruth Barton  

87096

r.barton@auckland.ac.nz  

Science and culture in Victorian England, domestic technology and housework, science and technology in New Zealand.

Professor Linda Bryder

87319

l.bryder@auckland.ac.nz  

Social history of health and medicine in New Zealand and Europe; 20th century New Zealand social and political history.

Dr Sara Buttsworth  

88319

s.buttsworth@auckland.ac.nz  

 

Associate Professor Malcolm Campbell

87393

mc.campbell@auckland.ac.nz  

Australian history, history of migration, Irish history.

Associate Professor Caroline Daley  

87041

c.daley@auckland.ac.nz

New Zealand social and cultural history, with a special focus on the history of gender relations; Australasian history; history of leisure; history of the body.

Dr Lindsay Diggelmann  

87099

l.diggelmann@auckland.ac.nz  

Cultural history of Medieval and Early Modern Europe, the Anglo-Norman period (11th-12th centuries), the Crusades, History of Emotions.

Associate Professor Jennifer Frost

88322

j.frost@auckland.ac.nz

Twentieth-century United States history; United States women's history, social movements, and popular culture; History of Hollywood and celebrity culture; African American cultural activism.

Dr Aroha Harris

 

a.harris@auckland.ac.nz

New Zealand history, Māori culture and society in the post-war era, oral history, race relations history.

Dr Deborah Montgomerie  

87364

d.montgomerie@auckland.ac.nz  

New Zealand social and cultural history, New Zealand women's history, war and society history.

Dr Ellen Nakamura  

87518

e.nakamura@auckland.ac.nz  

Japanese social history, history of medicine, women’s history, early modern Japan.

Associate Professor Kim Phillips  

87306

km.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

Medieval Europe, especially England, c. 1100-1550, women's and gender history, youth and lifecycle history, history of sexuality and the body, Medieval travel and ethnographic writing, constructions of 'race'.

Professor Barry Reay  

88072

bg.reay@auckland.ac.nz  

History of sex.

Professor Jonathan Scott  

87967

jonathan.scott@auckland.ac.nz  

Early modern European politics, culture, and ideas.

Dr Paul Taillon  

87365

p.taillon@auckland.ac.nz  

United States labour history, United States social, cultural, and political history, Late 19th and early 20th century United States history.

Dr Joseph Zizek

88852

j.zizek@auckland.ac.nz

Cultural history of France in the late 18th century, French Revolution, European cultural history in the 18th and 19th Centuries.