Staff research in Classics and Ancient History

Members of our academic staff are known nationally and internationally for their expertise in a wide range of sub-disciplines and fields in languages, history and culture of ancient Mediterranean peoples, from pre-dynastic Egypt to Late Antiquity.
 

Staff research interests in Classics and Ancient History

Name Email Research Interests
Dr Jeremy Armstrong js.armstrong@auckland.ac.nz

Early Rome and Latium; the Roman army; Roman Republican politics; the archaic Italian economy

Associate Professor Lisa Bailey lk.bailey@auckland.ac.nz

Christianity in late antiquity and the early middle ages; slavery; popular culture; history of religion

Dr Dougal Blyth dougal.blyth@auckland.ac.nz

Greek language and literature; ancient philosophy and drama

Emeritus Professor Vivienne Gray
v.gray@auckland.ac.nz

Greek history, Greek language and literature

Dr Jennifer Hellum j.hellum@auckland.ac.nz

Old Kingdom history, Egyptian religion, Egyptian language, historiography of Egyptology, the language of the Pyramid Texts, conceptual metaphor and critical discourse analysis in Egyptian literature

Dr Maxine Lewis maxine.lewis@auckland.ac.nz

Latin literature, especially Catullus’ poetry; Catullus’ reception; approaches to place, space, geography and landscape in literature; the study of gender and sexuality in Greek and Roman literature and society; literary criticism especially feminist, reception, and intertextuality; women authors

Associate Professor Anne Mackay anne.mackay@auckland.ac.nz

Archaic Greek Art, especially Attic black-figure pottery; Early Greek Oral Tradition; Greek Tragedy; Greek Mythology

Professor Tony
Spalinger
a.spalinger@auckland.ac.nz

Ancient warfare in Egypt and Western Asia; the ancient economy of Egypt; ancient natural science (astronomy and calendrics); interconnections among Ancient Near Eastern Societies (Egypt, Hatti, Mesopotamia, Neo-Assyria and The Levant); Egypt and Kush below Aswan from Dynasty 25 to the Napatan-Meroitic Periods); literary genres of ancient Egypt and The Ancient Egyptian Novel

Professor Matthew
Trundle
m.trundle@auckland.ac.nz Ancient Greek history, especially social, economic and military history
Associate Professor Marcus Wilson mj.wilson@auckland.ac.nz

Latin language and literature, Roman history