Staff research in Classics and Ancient History

Members of our academic staff are known nationally and internationally for their expertise in a wide range of sub-disciplines and fields in languages, history and culture of ancient Mediterranean peoples, from pre-dynastic Egypt to Late Antiquity.
 

Staff research interests in Classics and Ancient History

Name Email Research Interests
Dr Jeremy Armstrong js.armstrong@auckland.ac.nz

Early Rome and Latium; the development of the Roman Army.

Associate Professor Lisa Bailey lk.bailey@auckland.ac.nz

Christianity in Late Antique Gaul, especially preaching and the laity

Dr Dougal Blyth dougal.blyth@auckland.ac.nz

Greek language and literature; ancient philosophy and drama

Emeritus Professor Vivienne Gray
v.gray@auckland.ac.nz

Greek history, Greek language and literature

Dr Jennifer Hellum j.hellum@auckland.ac.nz

Egyptian history and language

Dr Maxine Lewis maxine.lewis@auckland.ac.nz

Latin literature (especially Late Republican and early Augustan); the use of geography in literature; the construction of gender and sexuality in Greek and Roman literature and society; the reception of classical myths by contemporary female authors.

Associate Professor Anne Mackay anne.mackay@auckland.ac.nz

Greek art and archaeology, especially of archaic Athens; the early Greek oral tradition; classical mythology.

Professor Tony
Spalinger
a.spalinger@auckland.ac.nz

Egyptian history and language, ancient natural science, calendars and chronology, narrative, military art.

Professor Matthew
Trundle
m.trundle@auckland.ac.nz  
Associate Professor Marcus Wilson mj.wilson@auckland.ac.nz

Latin language and literature, Roman history.