Staff research in Art History

Research strengths in Art History

Within Art History we have research strengths in the following areas:

  • Creativity and cross-cultural and inter-cultural representation, both past and contemporary, in all visual media.
  • Māori and Pacific art history and visual culture.
  • Post-colonial theory.
  • The study of museums, including the histories, roles and practices of different kinds of museums and art galleries; taonga and identity in museums; the roles of museums in cultural politics.
  • Northern Renaissance art.
     

Staff research interests

Name Email Research Interests
Associate Professor Leonard Bell l.bell@auckland.ac.nz Cross-cultural interactions and the creation of visual images and objects in New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific from the mid 18th century to the present; the work and careers of émigré, refugee, migrant and travelling artists, photographers, architects and art writers from the 19th century to the present.
Professor Iain Buchanan i.buchanan@auckland.ac.nz

Patronage and collecting of 16th century art; Flemish tapestries

Dr Ngārino Ellis ngarino.ellis@auckland.ac.nz Tribal carving especially the Iwirakau carving school, indigenous museology, Maori meeting houses overseas, non-Western feminisms, globalisation of Maori and indigenous art, art crime in indigenous communities, moko as signature.
Associate Professor Erin Griffey e.griffey@auckland.ac.nz

Portraiture and patronage in the early modern period, Rembrandt, New Zealand portraiture.

Dr Gregory Minissale g.minissale@auckland.ac.nz

Art theory, philosophy of mind, cognitive and psychological approaches to art.

Dr Caroline Vercoe c.vercoe@auckland.ac.nz

Contemporary Pacific art practice, post-colonial theory, non-western feminisms, photography and representation.

Ian Wedde i.wedde@auckland.ac.nz  
Dr Robin Woodward r.woodward@auckland.ac.nz

Public art; New Zealand painting and sculpture; 19th and 20th century sculpture