Faculty of Arts - COMPASS


COMPASS is based within the Faculty of Arts at The University of Auckland. It consists of a team of researchers with experience and expertise in a range of disciplines and social science research methodologies.


COMPASS currently holds a number of externally-funded grants, including those from the Health Research Council (HRC), the Marsden fund and Ministry of Science and Innovation (MSI). We have established collaborative links with Statistics New Zealand, AUT University, the University of Otago’s Wellington School of Medicine, the University of Canberra and The Australian National University. We collaborate on projects both nationally and internationally in the social sciences, health and statistics.

COMPASS also provides management and infrastructure for the New Zealand Social Statistics Network (NZSSN) and the New Zealand Social Science Data Service (NZSSDS). The latter allows for online analysis of archived data sets.


Our mission is to undertake and facilitate social science research of international standing that is both theoretically informed and empirically grounded, utilises a wide range of research methodologies, and has relevance to social policy.


COMPASS Advisory Board

Professor Toni Ashton (Chair) Population Health
Dr Allen Bartley Social Work
Dr Jennifer Curtin Political Studies
David Fougere Phoenix Research
Professor Alan France Sociology
Walter Fraser Centre of Pacific Studies
Dr Louise Humpage Sociology
Nick Jones Centre for eResearch
Jeffery Nikoia UniServices
Gary Patterson Faculty of Arts Administration
Daniel Patrick Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga
Dr Lynette Read Faculty of Arts Administration
Professor Cris Shore Anthropology
Professor Chris Triggs Statistics
Associate Professor Rhema Vaithianathan Economics
Andrew Sporle Department of Statistics