Who we are

The Public Policy Institute brings together researchers, practitioners and postgraduate students from across the University of Auckland and the wider community.

Director

Jennifer Curtin
© Fairfax Media

Professor Jennifer Curtin is the Director of the PPI and the Coordinator of our Master of Public Policy (MPP) programme.

Jennifer teaches comparative public policy and runs an internship course for postgraduate students, working with the Auckland Policy Office, MBIE and Auckland Council, as well as with smaller policy consultancies and non-profit organisations.

Her research focuses on trans-Tasman policy innovations, sport and politics, and gender analysis in policy making. She has undertaken collaborative research projects with womens' policy agencies in Australia and womens' organisations in New Zealand, and has published widely on topics related to this theme.

She was an NZ-Fulbright Senior Research Scholar in 2012 and regularly speaks about issues connected with her research at national and international conferences and in the media.
 

Research team

Dr Suzanne Woodward

Dr Suzanne Woodward
Knowledge Translation Specialist
s.woodward@auckland.ac.nz
 

Jane Bradley- April 2018

Jane Bradley
Research Programme Manager
j.bradley@auckland.ac.nz
 

Research associates

Suzy Morrissey

Suzy Morrissey
Tax, transfers, and gender analysis
s.morrissey@auckland.ac.nz

 

Celestyna Galicki
Tidwell Rapp

Professor Alan Tidwell
Peacemaking and conflict-resolution
act35@georgetown.edu

Dr Tom Baker

Dr Tom Baker
The politics of policy
t.baker@auckland.ac.nz

 

Julie MacArthur
Alasdair Jones

Dr Alasdair Jones
Sustainability, mobility and urban life
a.jones@lse.ac.uk

Susan St John

Honorary Associate Professor Susan St John
Child Poverty Action Group, Retirement Policy and Research Centre
s.stjohn@auckland.ac.nz

Jess Berentson-Shaw

Jess Berentson-Shaw
Population wellbeing, evidence and policy
Jess@theworkshop.org.nz

 

Timothy Fadgen

Dr Timothy Fadgen
International development, immigration law and policy transfer
timothy.fadgen@auckland.ac.nz

 

Adrian Field

Dr Adrian Field
Public health, transport and urban environments
adrian@dovetailnz.com

Academic advisory board

Dr Elizabeth Aitken Rose

Dr Elizabeth Aitken Rose
Faculty of Creative Arts and Industries
e.aitken-rose@auckland.ac.nz
 

Dr Steffen Lippert
Dr Tim Tenbensel
Professor David Williams
Professor Susan Kemp

Professor Susan Patricia Kemp
Faculty of Education and Social Work
s.kemp@auckland.ac.nz 
 

Professor Tracey McIntosh
Dr Jemaima Tiatia-Seath
Dr Douglas Wilson

Dr Douglas Wilson
Faculty of Engineering
dj.wilson@auckland.ac.nz
 

Professor Shaun Hendy
Dr Barry Milne
Associate Professor Melinda Webber